Motor vehicle accidents are an everyday occurrence in Texas. Data shows that every year, thousands of motor vehicle accidents happen in Texas – resulting in thousands of deaths and billions in economic losses. The worst part – as any Texas traffic accident attorney can tell you – is that many of these accidents could have been avoided if the drivers had followed traffic laws. In this article, we take a look at three important Texas traffic laws you must be aware of.
1. Liability Insurance Law
Under the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act, drivers are required to buy third-party liability insurance so that in the event of an accident, they can be held accountable for the deaths, injuries, and property damage they cause.
The minimum amount of liability coverage you are required to buy is:
- $30,000 to cover bodily injuries or death of one person
- $60,000 to cover bodily injuries or deaths of two or more persons
- $25,000 to cover property damage
If you are injured by someone who has liability insurance, you can sue them with the help of a Texas traffic accident attorney and seek compensation for your injuries, property damage, and other losses.
2. Right of Way at Intersections
When you enter an intersection with traffic signals, you must obey them. If, on the other hand, the intersection does not have any signs or signals, you are required to yield the right-of-way to vehicles that have already entered or approaching the intersection from the right.
When it comes to multiple-lane roads, right-of-way rules depend on whether you enter the lane from the left or right. If you are attempting to enter the lane from the right, you are required to yield the right-of-way to vehicles that are entering the same lane from the left.
You are also required to yield the right-of-way to emergency vehicles (fire trucks, ambulances, and police cars) at all times – irrespective of other factors. If you are injured by a negligent driver who failed to yield you the right-of-way, you can file a claim against them with the help of a Texas traffic accident attorney and seek compensatory damages.
3. DUI Law
Texas law prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle if you have a BAC of 0.08% or higher. Failing to follow the law can result in severe penalties – including fine (up to $2,000), license suspension (up to a year), and jail sentence (up to 180 days) – even if you are a first-time offender. For your subsequent DUI offenses, the penalties can be significantly harsher.
If you are injured by an impaired driver, you can file a claim against them with the assistance of a Texas traffic accident attorney and hold them accountable for their reckless behavior.
It should be noted that a driver can be charged with DUI if the drugs or alcohol in their system affect their driving abilities – even if their BAC is less than the legal limit.
Looking for an Experienced Texas Traffic Accident Attorney?
Attorney Dana G. Kirk has over 40 years of experience in handling personal injury claims and has helped scores of injury victims get the compensation they are entitled to under the law. The recipient of numerous professional honors, attorney Dana G. Kirk can provide you with personalized legal advice, negotiate with insurance adjusters, and take the at-fault party to court if needed to recover the compensation you deserve.
Write o us online for a free, no-obligation review of your case.