Riding a motorcycle on the long, open roads of Texas can be exhilarating. At the same time, there is no denying the fact that it is a risky pastime. The fact that you do not have any structural protection makes you vulnerable to serious injuries in the event of a crash or a collision. By following Texas motorcycle laws, you can reduce the risk of accidents to a great extent and enjoy your rides. Given below are four important laws that motorcyclists are required to follow in Texas.
1. The Helmet Law
This is one of the most important Texas motorcycle laws you should be aware of. If you are under the age of 21, you are required to wear a helmet – which meets Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard #218 – while riding a motorcycle. Passengers under the age of 21 are also required to wear a helmet that meets the aforementioned standards.
It should be noted that the helmet law does not apply to you if you are over the age of 21 and if you meet one of the following criteria.
- You have medical insurance worth $10,000 or more.
- You have completed a motorcycle operator training course approved by the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Even if you meet the aforementioned criteria, it is still a good idea to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle, as it can protect you from life-threatening injuries in the event of an accident.
2. The Passenger Law
Texas motorcycle laws state that a motorcyclist can carry a passenger only if the following criteria are met.
- The motorcycle must be equipped with a passenger seat.
- The passenger must be at least five years of age or older.
- If the passenger is under the age of 21, they must wear a helmet.
It should be noted that if the passenger is over the age of 21 and if the motorcyclist meets the helmet exemption laws mentioned above, they need not wear a helmet.
3. Lane Splitting Law
Lane splitting – the act of riding a motorcycle in the gap between two or more lanes of traffic – is illegal under Texas motorcycle laws. If caught riding between lanes, you might be issued a ticket or asked to pay a fine.
4. Liability Insurance Law
Texas law requires motorcyclists to buy third-party liability insurance so that they can be held financially responsible for the accidents they cause. While there is no upper limit on the amount of liability insurance you can buy, you are required to meet the minimum liability limit, which is:
- $30,000 per person
- $60,000 per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Injured by Someone Who Broke Texas Motorcycle Laws? We Can Help You!
No matter how careful you are, you can still be injured by someone who fails to follow the rules of the road. If and when it happens, the motorcycle accident attorneys at Kirk Law Firm can help you.
Headed by Dana G. Kirk, who is one of the most celebrated and successful civil litigators in the country, our firm has the resources to take up complicated cases that many of peers might be hesitant to take up. We bring over 40 years of experience and unparalleled legal knowledge to help victims of motorcycle accidents get the compensation they deserve.
Contact us online for a free and 100% confidential review of your case.